+ Playlists

Kesha stripped: singer premieres Deconstructed 'Die Young,' announces acoustic EP

Photo credit : Handout/Sony
Kesha stripped: singer premieres Deconstructed 'Die Young,' announces acoustic EP

Ke$ha will release Deconstructed, a just-announced digital EP, when her album Warrior arrives December 4.

It's (dollah) billed as an "acoustic" collection, so if you haven't already heard what the 25-year-old can do without the aid of Auto-Tune -- please refer to her 2011 cover of Bob Dylan's "Don't Think Twice It's All Right" -- Deconstructed's five tracks might reveal something of the Nashville native you haven't already seen in her sleazed-up "Die Young" video.

"I got really sick of people saying that I couldn't sing, because I can do very few things confidently in my life, and one of them is that I can sing," Ke$ha told Billboard in an October interview, talking about her mindset going into the making of Warrior. I remember thinking [with Animal], 'Oh, it's just processed. People will learn that I can sing later.' But after reading some reviews that were like, 'She can't sing,' I finally was like, 'F*ck that.'"

Deconstructed's tracklisting ranges from a new version of Animal single "Blow" to Ke$ha's take on a 1980 Dolly Parton hit "Old Flames" -- a track that was written by Ke$ha's mom. (Fun fact!)

And there's also a fresh take on the pop star's current single, "Die Young" -- which Ke$ha premiered yesterday through her official site. This isn't some old-school, MTV Unplugged business, though; instead, Ke$ha warbles over some chiming electric piano sounds, turning her current hit (it's presently No. 4 on the Canadian Hot 100, according to Billboard) into a dreamy slow jam.

Listen to "Die Young (Deconstructed)" below:

Deconstructed tracklisting:

1. "Old Flames"

2. "Blow

3. "Harold Song"

4. "Die Young"

5. "Supernatural"